DoesTheMath

Ruud PROG40-40N RH67 PV

0.7 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
E

Grade E: where this UEF sits among the 414 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

You are checking the Ruud PROG40-40N RH67 PV, a gas tank water heater. At the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, it uses 242 therms of natural gas a year. That is 18 therms below the 260 therms median of the 414 gas tank models registered at that pattern.


Energy use per year

242 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 260 therms for the 414 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 90 of 414, lowest energy first.

This model: 242 therms

Solid line: this model (242 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 188 therms Median 260 therms Max 277 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.7 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
79 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
38 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,993–$3,665 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 242 therms figure is computed by this site, not taken from the registry. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. For this model the UEF is 0.7. The source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. Among the 414 models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern, this model ranks 90th lowest in energy use. That places it in the lowest quarter of its class. The figure holds only at the federal test's daily draw. Energy use at a different daily draw is not available from this data.

The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. This model has a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 79 gallons. Its rated volume is 38 gallons. Those figures belong to the high-draw test condition. For a home with lighter daily use, this data gives no annual energy figure, so a comparison at that draw is not available. To compare models sized for other demand, the selector by fuel, space and size filters by those factors. To check a like-for-like swap, you can find a same-class replacement by model number.

The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on your state's average residential gas price. The page computes it from your ZIP instead. The cost calculator on your own ZIP prices the 242 therms a year at that rate. At any single rate, the 18 therms gap to the 260 therms class median becomes a cost gap at that same rate; that amount is not stated here. How the annual cost is calculated sets out the steps and sources. The installed price range sits in its own block, with its source and date, as a modeled range rather than a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.7 · Grade E Price it on your ZIP