DoesTheMath

Ruud MR30245 C

0.88 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 163 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, low draw pattern (a one- or two-person household).

If you are checking the Ruud MR30245 C, an electric tank, it uses 2,550 kWh a year at the low draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 111 kWh above the class median of 2,439 kWh, and it ranks 158th lowest in energy use of 163 models.


Energy use per year

2,550 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 2,439 kWh for the 163 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 158 of 163, lowest energy first.

This model: 2,550 kWh

Solid line: this model (2,550 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 724 kWh Median 2,439 kWh Max 2,550 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.88 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Low DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
37 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
28 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

Not published: Installed cost range

This model's UEF lies outside the range NLR REMDB's cost model was fitted on, and the range is not stretched past it.

The annual energy figure on this page does not depend on this range and is unaffected.


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The annual figure for the Ruud MR30245 C is 2,550 kWh of electricity at the low draw pattern. The registry does not state this number itself. This site computed it from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.88 for this model, and from the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for that draw pattern. The DOE CCD data was retrieved on 2026-09-19. The calculation is described on the methodology page. The figure applies only at the test draw; energy use in a home with a different daily draw is not available here.

Against its class, this model sits 111 kWh above the class median of 2,439 kWh. The class is the 163 models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern. This model ranks 158th lowest in energy use, which places it in the highest quarter of the class for energy use, meaning higher use than most models it is compared with. The comparison covers energy use at the test draw only. It says nothing about how long the unit lasts or how it performs in a given home. Anyone checking the rank against the registry should use the same class definition, because a different grouping would change both the median and the rank.

The rated volume is 28 gallons, and the first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 37 gallons. Those ratings go with the low draw pattern, which represents a small household. A home with higher hot-water demand is not represented by the 2,550 kWh figure, and its own use is not available here. The water heater selector filters by fuel, space and size. The running cost is not stated in this text because it depends on your utility electricity tariff. The cost calculator computes it from your ZIP. An installed price range is not published for this model, because its ratings lie outside the range the cost database's model was fitted on.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.88 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP