DoesTheMath

RINNAI RE199I (REU-VE2737FFD-US)

0.82 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

You are checking the rated energy use of the RINNAI RE199I (REU-VE2737FFD-US). At the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, this gas tankless unit uses 206 therms of natural gas a year. That is 24 therms above the 182 therms median of the 397 models in its class.


Energy use per year

206 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is above the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 229 of 397, lowest energy first.

This model: 206 therms

Solid line: this model (206 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.82 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
4.6 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,745–$2,687 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

This site computed the 206 therms figure; the registry does not state it. The calculation combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high pattern. For this model the UEF is 0.82. The registry data came from the DOE CCD and was retrieved on 2026-09-19. The figure therefore holds only at the federal test's daily draw. A household that draws more or less hot water than that test will use a different amount of gas. The registry does not show how far your own use differs from the test. The page on how the annual energy and cost figures are calculated sets out each step.

The class is the 397 models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern. Within it, this model ranks 229th lowest energy use of 397. That places it in the second-highest quarter of its class for energy use. The high pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. For that kind of household, the 206 therms figure applies as tested. The registry also lists a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 4.6 for this unit. Models ranked ahead of it at the same pattern use less energy than 206 therms a year. To compare it with units in the same class, use the tool to find a same-class replacement by model number.

This text does not state a running cost. The cost depends on your state's average residential gas price, so the page computes it from your ZIP. Enter it in the water heater cost calculator for your own ZIP to price the 206 therms at your rate. The 24 therms gap to the class median depends on your state's rate in the same way. An installed-cost range appears in its own block on this page, with its source and date. That range is a modeled installed cost, not a quote. Neither the running cost nor that range covers gas used beyond the federal test's daily draw. The registry does not provide those amounts.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.82 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP