DoesTheMath

Richmond RTG-84DVLN-1

0.82 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

Checking the Richmond RTG-84DVLN-1? This gas tankless unit uses 206 therms of natural gas a year at the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 24 therms above the median of 182 therms for the 397 gas tankless models tested at the high pattern. It ranks 229th of 397 for lowest energy use.


Energy use per year

206 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is above the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 229 of 397, lowest energy first.

This model: 206 therms

Solid line: this model (206 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.82 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
4.5 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,745–$2,687 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

This site calculated the 206 therms figure. The registry does not publish it. The figure combines the registered UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high pattern. This model's UEF is 0.82, from the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The high pattern stands for a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. The figure applies only at that test draw. A home that uses a different amount of hot water each day will not match 206 therms. The registry does not give this model's gas use at any other daily draw, so that value is not available here. The steps behind the estimate are explained on the page about how the annual cost is calculated.

Within its class, the RTG-84DVLN-1 ranks 229th for lowest energy use out of 397 models. That puts it in the second-highest quarter of the class for energy use, 24 therms a year above the class median of 182 therms. Its maximum flow rate in gallons per minute is 4.5. The figure fits a check on a home that matches the high pattern, because that is the only pattern it was measured at. It is less useful to someone who needs gas use at or below 182 therms at this pattern: this model is above that median. The comparison covers only gas tankless units at the high draw pattern. It does not cover other patterns or fuels. To check other models in this class, use the same-class replacement search by model number.

The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your state's average residential gas price, so the page calculates it from your ZIP and the 206 therms figure. The 24 therms gap to the class median becomes a cost difference only at your own rate. The page does not state that difference here either. You can see both figures in the cost calculator for your own ZIP. The installed price range appears in its own block, with its source and date. It is a modeled range for installation cost, not a quote. The running cost and the installed price come from separate calculations. Neither one changes the energy figure of 206 therms at the high draw pattern.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.82 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP