DoesTheMath

Richmond PROG50-34U RH EC1

0.63 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 414 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

If you are checking the Richmond PROG50-34U RH EC1, this gas tank heater uses 269 therms of natural gas a year. That figure belongs to the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 9 therms above the 260 therms median of the 414 gas tank models registered at that pattern.


Energy use per year

269 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is above the median of 260 therms for the 414 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 320 of 414, lowest energy first.

This model: 269 therms

Solid line: this model (269 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 188 therms Median 260 therms Max 277 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.63 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
80 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
48 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,732–$2,981 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The registry does not print the 269 therms figure. This site computed it from the model's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high pattern. The registry lists a UEF of 0.63 for this model. The data comes from the DOE CCD and was retrieved on 2026-09-19. The 414 gas tank models registered at the high draw pattern form its comparison class. On energy use, this model ranks 320th lowest in that class. That puts it in the highest quarter of its class for energy use. The figure holds only at the federal test's daily draw. This page has no energy figure for a household that draws a different amount. The steps are set out in how this site calculates the annual figure.

The high draw pattern stands for a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. The registry lists its first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, as 80 gallons. Its rated volume is 48 gallons. A plumber or seller can check both figures against the unit being replaced. A smaller household with a lighter daily draw falls outside the test condition behind the 269 therms figure. For that case, this page has no energy figure. If the old unit was also a gas tank at the high draw pattern, same-class replacements by model number lists the other models in this class. For a different fuel or tank size, use the water heater selector by fuel, space and size.

This text does not state the running cost. It depends on your state's average residential gas price, so the page computes it from your ZIP. The page applies that rate to the 269 therms figure. The 9 therms gap to the class median is a difference in therms. Its cost also depends on your own rate, so this text does not state it. The running-cost calculator for your ZIP shows the result for your state. The installed-cost range has its own block on this page, with its source and date. That range is modeled, not a quote. Both the running cost and the installed range assume the high draw pattern behind the 269 therms figure.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.63 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP