DoesTheMath

Rheem SPEX75

0.96 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
E

Grade E: where this UEF sits among the 271 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tankless unit, very small draw pattern (small units - a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink).

If you are checking the Rheem SPEX75, an electric tankless unit, here is its annual energy figure. It uses 615 kWh of electricity a year under the very small draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That equals the median of its class, 615 kWh, a difference of 0 kWh.


Energy use per year

615 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is equal to the median of 615 kWh for the 271 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 77 of 271, lowest energy first.

This model: 615 kWh

Solid line: this model (615 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 562 kWh Median 615 kWh Max 649 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.96 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Very small DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
0.8 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,306–$1,838 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 615 kWh figure is calculated by this site, not stated by the registry. It combines the model's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw. This model's UEF is 0.96, and the draw used is the one set for the very small draw pattern. The underlying registry record comes from the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. Because the test fixes the daily draw, the figure describes the test conditions, not a particular household. A home whose hot-water use differs from that draw would see a different annual figure, and this data does not say by how much. The steps are set out on the page explaining how the annual cost is calculated.

Against the 271 models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern, this model ranks 77th lowest for energy use. That places it in the second-lowest quarter of its class for energy use. Its annual figure is still equal to the class median, a difference of 0 kWh. The very small draw pattern covers small units: a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink. Its maximum flow rate in gallons per minute is 0.8 at the registry rating. Whether that flow covers a given fixture depends on the fixture's own flow, which this data does not include. Other units in this class can be looked up to find a same-class replacement by model number.

The draw pattern also marks who this figure does not describe. A household expecting one unit to serve several bathrooms is outside the very small draw pattern, so 615 kWh would not apply to it. Running cost is not stated here, because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff applied to the 615 kWh figure. The page computes it from your ZIP rather than estimating a single amount. You can enter your ZIP in the cost calculator for your own electricity rate. The installed price range appears in its own block, with its source and date, as a modeled installed cost rather than a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.96 · Grade E Price it on your ZIP