DoesTheMath

Rheem SPEX2412

0.95 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 271 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tankless unit, very small draw pattern (small units - a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink).

If you are verifying the Rheem SPEX2412, its annual energy use is 622 kWh of electricity. That figure holds at the very small draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 7 kWh above the 615 kWh median for the 271 electric tankless units registered at that pattern.


Energy use per year

622 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 615 kWh for the 271 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 152 of 271, lowest energy first.

This model: 622 kWh

Solid line: this model (622 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 562 kWh Median 615 kWh Max 649 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.95 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Very small DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
0.2 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,303–$1,814 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 622 kWh figure for the very small draw pattern is computed by this site, not published by the registry. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw. For this model the UEF is 0.95, from DOE CCD records retrieved 2026-09-19. Among the 271 units in its class, it ranks 152nd lowest for energy use. That places it in the second-highest quarter of its class for energy use. The page on how the annual cost is calculated explains each input behind the energy figure.

The very small draw pattern covers small units: a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink. The 622 kWh result applies only to that level of daily use. The registry lists a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 0.2 for this model. The registry does not state which fixtures that flow can serve at once; that detail is not available here. A home needing hot water at several outlets together falls outside what this test pattern describes. Units for larger daily use are listed in the water heater selector by fuel, space and size.

This page does not state a running cost in the text. The cost of 622 kWh a year at the test's daily draw depends on your own utility's electricity tariff. The page computes that cost from your ZIP code, so the result differs between readers. On a flat per-kWh tariff, the yearly 7 kWh gap to the class median adds cost in proportion to that rate. You can run the same figure through the cost calculator on your own ZIP. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date; it is a modeled range, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.95 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP