DoesTheMath

RELIANCE WATER HEATERS GUF-50 1**

0.7 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
E

Grade E: where this UEF sits among the 414 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

The RELIANCE WATER HEATERS GUF-50 1** uses 242 therms of natural gas a year under the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. For anyone verifying the registry figure, that sits 18 therms below the 260 therms median of the 414 gas tank models registered at the same draw pattern.


Energy use per year

242 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 260 therms for the 414 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 90 of 414, lowest energy first.

This model: 242 therms

Solid line: this model (242 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 188 therms Median 260 therms Max 277 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.7 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
83 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
48 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$2,141–$4,033 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

This site computed the 242 therms figure; the registry does not state it. The calculation starts from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used. For this model the UEF is 0.7, applied to the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. The registry values come from the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. At that draw, the model ranks 90th lowest energy use of 414. That places it in the lowest quarter of its class for energy use. The figure holds at the test's draw only; an annual figure at other daily draws is not available here. The steps are set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. The model's first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 83 gallons. Its rated volume is 48 gallons. A home whose hot-water use matches the high pattern is the case the 242 therms figure describes. A home with lighter or heavier daily use falls outside that test condition, so the figure is a reference, not a forecast. To compare other fuels or sizes, use the selector by fuel, space and size. A same-class alternative can be found with a replacement search by model number.

The running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on your state's average residential gas price. The page computes it from your ZIP, and the same calculation is available in the cost calculator on your own ZIP. The 18 therms gap below the 260 therms class median is an energy difference at the test's draw. What that gap is worth each year also depends on your rate, so it is not given here. A seller or plumber checking a listing can match the 242 therms figure and the 0.7 UEF against the DOE CCD entry for GUF-50 1**. The installed-cost range on this page sits in its own block, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.7 · Grade E Price it on your ZIP