RELIANCE WATER HEATERS ATHR-180M 1**
0.95 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19Grade B: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set
A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).
If you are checking the RELIANCE WATER HEATERS ATHR-180M 1**, a gas tankless unit, this site computes 178 therms of natural gas a year for it. That figure applies to the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It is 4 therms below the 182 therms median of the 397 models in its class.
Energy use per year
178 therms a year
Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.
That is below the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 45 of 397, lowest energy first.
Solid line: this model (178 therms). Dashed line: the class median.
Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms
What it costs to run where you live
What the registry files
- UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
- 0.95 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
- Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
- High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
- 5.3 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
- 2024-02-01 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
- Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
- No ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
What it costs to install
$2,358–$3,405 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-24Does it fit your space?
Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.
- Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
- the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
- Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
- the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
- Vent type and size (ENERGY STAR)
- how a gas unit is vented, the vent's diameter and the height of its vent connector
What these figures mean
How this compares
The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Find what replaces your water heater
Enter the model number off your old unit and see what is on file today, with the yearly cost difference.
-
Find a water heater that fits
Three questions — fuel, hot water need, install space — narrow every model on file to the ones that fit.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a unit's efficiency against your own utility's filed tariff for your ZIP code.
-
How to size a tankless water heater by GPM
Answered from what models in this size actually file.
-
Water heaters
Every model on file with the Department of Energy, by heater type.
-
All gas tankless water heaters
Gas-fired instantaneous units, sized by flow rate rather than tank gallons.
-
Every RELIANCE WATER HEATERS model on file
What this brand files, by heater type.
UEF 0.95 · Grade B Price it on your ZIP
The registry does not publish the 178 therms figure. This site calculates it from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, and from the daily hot-water draw that the DOE test sets for the high draw pattern. This model's UEF is 0.95, from the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The result applies only to natural gas and only at that test draw. A household that uses more or less hot water each day than the test assumes will have a different yearly total. This page does not have that household's own figure. The calculation steps are explained in how the annual water heater energy and cost figures are calculated.
The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. In that group, this unit has the 45th lowest energy use of the 397 registered gas tankless models. That puts it in the lowest quarter of its class for energy use. The registry also lists a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 5.3 for this model. Whether 5.3 covers the fixtures a given home runs at the same time depends on that home, and this page does not have that information. No energy figure for a smaller draw pattern is available here. So a home with lighter daily use falls outside the figure shown. To compare another model in the same class, use the same-class replacement lookup by model number.
The running cost is not stated in this text because it depends on your own gas rate. The page calculates it from the ZIP you enter. It applies that state's average residential natural gas price to 178 therms, so the result changes from one state to another. The same applies to the 4 therms gap from the class median. What that gap costs over a year depends on the local gas price and is not stated here. To see the cost at your own address, use the running cost calculator for your ZIP. The installed price range has its own block on this page, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote.
DOE CCD · 2026-09-19