Noritz NCC199CDV (GQ-C3261WZ-FF US)
0.98 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19Grade A: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set
A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).
If you are checking the Noritz NCC199CDV (GQ-C3261WZ-FF US), it uses 173 therms of natural gas a year. That figure belongs to the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 9 therms below the 182 therms median of the 397 gas tankless units registered at the same draw pattern.
Energy use per year
173 therms a year
Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.
That is below the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 1 of 397, lowest energy first.
Solid line: this model (173 therms). Dashed line: the class median.
Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms
What it costs to run where you live
What the registry files
- UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
- 0.98 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
- Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
- High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
- 5.5 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
- 2024-10-01 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
- Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
- No ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
What it costs to install
$2,499–$3,570 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-24Does it fit your space?
Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.
- Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
- the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
- Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
- the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
- Vent type and size (ENERGY STAR)
- how a gas unit is vented, the vent's diameter and the height of its vent connector
What these figures mean
How this compares
The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Find what replaces your water heater
Enter the model number off your old unit and see what is on file today, with the yearly cost difference.
-
Find a water heater that fits
Three questions — fuel, hot water need, install space — narrow every model on file to the ones that fit.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a unit's efficiency against your own utility's filed tariff for your ZIP code.
-
How to size a tankless water heater by GPM
Answered from what models in this size actually file.
-
Water heaters
Every model on file with the Department of Energy, by heater type.
-
All gas tankless water heaters
Gas-fired instantaneous units, sized by flow rate rather than tank gallons.
-
Every Noritz model on file
What this brand files, by heater type.
UEF 0.98 · Grade A Price it on your ZIP
This site calculated the 173 therms figure; the registry does not publish it. The calculation starts from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used. For this model, the UEF is 0.98. The calculation then applies the daily hot-water draw that DOE's test sets for the high draw pattern. The source is DOE's Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-09-19. The figure holds only at that test draw. A home that draws more hot water each day will use more gas than 173 therms, and a home that draws less will use less. The registry does not give this model's energy use at the other draw patterns, so that value is not available here. Each step is set out on the page explaining how the annual energy and cost figures are calculated.
In plain terms, the high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. The registry lists this unit's maximum flow rate in gallons per minute as 5.5. The registry data used here does not state the temperature rise behind that rating, so that detail is not available. A home that needs more than 5.5 of hot water at one time asks for more than the listed rating. For a smaller home with lower daily use, the 173 therms figure does not describe its own consumption, since that figure was calculated at the high draw pattern. If you are comparing units by fuel, space and size rather than checking this one, the water heater selector by fuel, space and size covers that comparison.
Within the class described in the first paragraph, the registry data ranks this model 1st lowest in energy use of 397. That places it in the lowest quarter of the class for energy use. The 9 therms gap to the class median is a difference in gas use, not in cost. The running cost depends on your state's average residential gas price, so it is not stated in this text. The page calculates it from your ZIP with the running cost calculator for your own ZIP. The installed price appears in its own block, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. To check units in the same class by model number, use the same-class replacement finder.
DOE CCD · 2026-09-19