DoesTheMath

Midea D40-45FH

0.92 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 426 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking the Midea D40-45FH against the registry, this electric tank uses 3,531 kWh of electricity a year. That figure belongs to the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It equals its class median of 3,531 kWh, a difference of 0 kWh.


Energy use per year

3,531 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is equal to the median of 3,531 kWh for the 426 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 213 of 426, lowest energy first.

This model: 3,531 kWh

Solid line: this model (3,531 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 773 kWh Median 3,531 kWh Max 3,569 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.92 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
55 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
37 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,605–$1,828 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 3,531 kWh figure is computed by this site. The registry does not publish it. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium pattern. For the D40-45FH, the UEF is 0.92, taken from the DOE CCD as retrieved on 2026-09-19. The result holds only at that test draw. A household that draws more or less hot water each day will use a different amount, and the registry does not state that amount. The steps are set out in how the annual energy and cost are calculated.

The class is the 426 models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern. The D40-45FH ranks 213th lowest in energy use of those 426, which places it in the second-lowest quarter of the class. DOE's medium pattern stands for a typical household with a busy morning of hot-water use. Its first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 55 gallons. The rated volume is 37 gallons. A household whose busiest hour stays within 55 gallons matches the conditions behind the 3,531 kWh figure. To compare other sizes or fuels, use the water heater selector by fuel, space and size.

The figure does not fit a household whose busiest hour needs more than 55 gallons, since the rating covers only the first hour from a full tank. It also does not fit a reader who wants energy use below the class median. Models ranked ahead of the 213th position use less than 3,531 kWh at the same test draw. To compare this model with others in its class, find a same-class replacement by model number. The running cost is not stated here, because it depends on your own utility's electricity rate. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies that rate to 3,531 kWh. The installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date, as a modeled range, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.92 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP