Midea D28-45FI
0.92 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 163 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set
An electric tank, low draw pattern (a one- or two-person household).
To verify the Midea D28-45FI, an electric tank: the federal test gives 2,439 kWh of electricity a year at the low draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against for a one- or two-person household. That equals the class median of 2,439 kWh, and it ranks 19th lowest of 163.
Energy use per year
2,439 kWh a year
Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.
That is equal to the median of 2,439 kWh for the 163 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 19 of 163, lowest energy first.
Solid line: this model (2,439 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.
Min 724 kWh Median 2,439 kWh Max 2,550 kWh
What it costs to run where you live
What the registry files
- UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
- 0.92 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern.
- Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
- Low DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
- 45 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
- 26 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
What it costs to install
Not published: Installed cost range
This model's rated tank size lies outside the range NLR REMDB's cost model was fitted on, and the range is not stretched past it.
The annual energy figure on this page does not depend on this range and is unaffected.
Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-24What these figures mean
How this compares
The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Find what replaces your water heater
Enter the model number off your old unit and see what is on file today, with the yearly cost difference.
-
Find a water heater that fits
Three questions — fuel, hot water need, install space — narrow every model on file to the ones that fit.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a unit's efficiency against your own utility's filed tariff for your ZIP code.
-
Is a 30-gallon water heater enough?
Answered from what models in this size actually file.
-
Water heaters
Every model on file with the Department of Energy, by heater type.
-
All electric resistance tank water heaters
Electric tanks that file a UEF below 2.0 — heated by elements, not a heat pump.
-
Every Midea model on file
What this brand files, by heater type.
UEF 0.92 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP
The 2,439 kWh figure is not a registry value. This site computed it from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.92 for the Midea D28-45FI, and from the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the low draw pattern. The source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The comparison group is the 163 electric tank models registered at the low draw pattern. Their median is 2,439 kWh, so the difference is 0 kWh. The unit ranks 19th lowest in energy use, which places it in the lowest quarter of its class. The data does not state how many models share the median value, so the rank and the equal-to-median result are reported as given.
The figure fits a one- or two-person household, because it holds only at the low draw pattern. The unit has a rated volume of 26 gallons and a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 45 gallons. A household with heavier daily use than the federal test's low draw pattern should not expect the 2,439 kWh figure to apply. Energy values for other draw patterns are not available on this page. To compare tanks by fuel, space and size, use the water heater selector.
Running cost is not stated in the text, because it depends on your own utility electricity rate applied to 2,439 kWh. The same energy use is multiplied by whatever rate applies, so two households with this unit can see different costs. The cost calculator works it out from your ZIP, and the calculation method explains each step. An installed price range is not published for this model: its ratings lie outside the range the cost database's model was fitted on, and the range is not stretched past it. For a unit in the same class, find a replacement by model number using D28-45FI.
DOE CCD · 2026-09-19