DoesTheMath

JOHN WOOD HPACO-45 1**+AXST-66 1**

3.7 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
C

Grade C: where this UEF sits among the 194 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

If you are checking the JOHN WOOD HPACO-45 1**+AXST-66 1**, it is an electric tank. It uses 1,341 kWh of electricity a year at the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 35 kWh above the median of 1,306 kWh for the 194 electric tanks registered at the high draw pattern.


Energy use per year

1,341 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 1,306 kWh for the 194 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 101 of 194, lowest energy first.

This model: 1,341 kWh

Solid line: this model (1,341 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 1,002 kWh Median 1,306 kWh Max 5,334 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
3.7 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
82 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
60 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
2026-02-13 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
Yes (CTA-2045-A,CTA-2045-B) ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Refrigerant and GWP (ENERGY STAR) the refrigerant a heat pump unit uses and its global warming potential, a leak's climate effect relative to carbon dioxide (CO2 = 1)
R-744 (CO2), GWP 1 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$3,505–$4,492 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

Does it fit your space?

Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.

Compressor operating range (ENERGY STAR)
the air temperatures around the unit in which its heat pump runs; outside this range the heat pump stops
Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
  • Ambient temperatureEnter your numbers1°F min
  • Physical footprintEnter your numbers18" ⌀
  • Electrical supplyEnter your numbers240V, 20.2A max
ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What these figures mean

This site computes the 1,341 kWh figure; the registry does not state it. The figure combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. This model's UEF is 3.7, from the DOE Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-09-19. Among the 194 electric tanks registered at the high draw pattern, it ranks 101st from lowest energy use. That rank puts it in the second-highest quarter of its class for energy use. The figure applies only at the federal test's daily draw. The page on how the annual cost is calculated sets out each step.

The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. This model's first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 82 gallons. Its rated volume is 60 gallons. A home that uses hot water at the high pattern is the case the 1,341 kWh figure describes. A smaller household that draws less hot water does not match the test condition. This page does not have this model's energy use at a lower draw. To compare other units by fuel, space and size, use the water heater selector. To match this unit within the same class, find a same-class replacement by model number.

The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page works it out from your ZIP. The cost calculator for your own ZIP applies your rate to the 1,341 kWh figure. The cost of the 35 kWh gap above the class median of 1,306 kWh also depends on that rate. The installed price on this page is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote; its source and date sit in its own block. If you are checking a quote or a listing, confirm that the model number reads HPACO-45 1**+AXST-66 1** before you rely on these figures.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 3.7 · Grade C Price it on your ZIP