DoesTheMath

GE GP50S**AYV01

0.61 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 288 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

You are verifying the yearly energy use of one model. The GE GP50S**AYV01 uses 182 therms of natural gas a year at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 3 therms below the class median of 185 therms among 288 gas tank models.


Energy use per year

182 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 185 therms for the 288 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 73 of 288, lowest energy first.

This model: 182 therms

Solid line: this model (182 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 148 therms Median 185 therms Max 194 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.61 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
65 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
50 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,645–$2,754 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 182 therms figure is not stated by the registry itself. This site computed it from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.61 for this model. The calculation uses the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The figure applies only to that test draw and to natural gas. A home with a different draw will use a different amount, and this data does not say how much.

Among the 288 models registered as a gas tank at the medium draw pattern, this unit ranks 73rd lowest for energy use. That places it in the second-lowest quarter of its class. The difference from the class median of 185 therms is 3 therms, and no other comparison is given. The tank holds 50 gallons. Its first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 65 gallons. Households whose demand matches the medium draw pattern can compare these figures directly. To check other sizes or fuels, use the water heater selector by fuel, space and size. For a like-for-like swap, find a same-class replacement by model number.

The running cost is not stated in the text, because it depends on the state average residential gas price. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies 182 therms to your local rate. The methodology page explains how the annual cost is calculated. Any model in the class is priced at the same gas rate, so the 3 therms gap to the median converts to cost at that rate. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. The energy figure describes a test draw, not a measurement of any single home.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.61 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP