DoesTheMath

FRIEDRICH RTGH-90DVLN-3

0.93 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
C

Grade C: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

For a larger household, the FRIEDRICH RTGH-90DVLN-3 gas tankless unit uses 182 therms of natural gas a year. That figure is for the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It equals the class median of 182 therms, a difference of 0 therms.


Energy use per year

182 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is equal to the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 183 of 397, lowest energy first.

This model: 182 therms

Solid line: this model (182 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.93 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
4.9 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$2,264–$3,294 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The registry lists a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.93 for this model. This site computed the annual figure of 182 therms, not the registry. It combines the registry's UEF with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. This unit ranks 183rd lowest for energy use among the 397 models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern. That places it in the second-lowest quarter of its class. The class median is 182 therms, so the difference from the median is 0 therms. The calculation steps are set out under how the annual cost is calculated.

The 182 therms figure applies only to the high draw pattern. A household with different hot-water use will see different gas use, and this page has no figure for other patterns. The maximum flow rate in gallons per minute is 4.9. That value comes from the registry. It does not state how many fixtures can run at once. The unit suits a reader checking a larger household against its class, since its use sits at the median of 182 therms. It shows no energy gain or loss against that median, because the difference is 0 therms. Readers with other needs can use the selector by fuel, space and size.

The running cost is not stated here because it depends on the state average residential gas price. The site multiplies the 182 therms of natural gas by that price. The same unit therefore costs different amounts in different states. Enter your ZIP in the cost calculator on your own ZIP to see the result for your rate. The installed-cost range has its own block on this page, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. To compare against another unit at the high draw pattern, find a same-class replacement by model number. Field measurements of actual gas use for this model are not available.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.93 · Grade C Price it on your ZIP