DoesTheMath

EEMAX SPEX012240T

0.95 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 271 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tankless unit, very small draw pattern (small units - a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink).

If you are checking the EEMAX SPEX012240T, this electric tankless unit uses 622 kWh of electricity a year. That figure applies to the very small draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 7 kWh above the 615 kWh median of its class.


Energy use per year

622 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 615 kWh for the 271 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 152 of 271, lowest energy first.

This model: 622 kWh

Solid line: this model (622 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 562 kWh Median 615 kWh Max 649 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.95 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Very small DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
1.1 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,303–$1,814 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 622 kWh figure comes from this site's calculation, not from the registry. It uses the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used. It pairs that with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the very small draw pattern. This model's UEF is 0.95. The registry data comes from the DOE certification database (CCD), retrieved 2026-09-19. Against the 271 models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern, this unit ranks 152nd lowest in energy use. That rank places it in the second-highest quarter of its class for energy use. The steps behind the figure are set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

The very small draw pattern covers small units: a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink. Those are the uses this rating describes. The 622 kWh figure holds only at that pattern's daily test draw. The registry lists this model's maximum flow rate in gallons per minute as 1.1. The figure does not describe a home that draws more hot water each day than the test assumes. Energy use at higher daily draws is not available in the registry data. If the demand you are checking is larger, the selector by fuel, space and size groups models by those criteria. To compare units in the same class as the SPEX012240T, use find a same-class replacement by model number.

This text does not state a running cost for the EEMAX SPEX012240T. The cost depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so no single figure applies to every reader. The page calculates it from your ZIP by applying your rate to the 622 kWh annual figure. You can run that step yourself with the cost calculator for your own ZIP. The same rate applies to the 7 kWh gap above the class median. So the cost difference from a median unit also depends on your tariff, and it is not stated here. The installed price range has its own block on this page, with its source and date. It is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote, and it is separate from the running cost.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.95 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP