DoesTheMath

Chronomite R

0.97 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
E

Grade E: where this UEF sits among the 271 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tankless unit, very small draw pattern (small units - a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink).

If you are checking the Chronomite R, it uses 609 kWh of electricity a year. That figure belongs to the very small draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 6 kWh below the median of 615 kWh for its class of 271 electric tankless units.


Energy use per year

609 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 615 kWh for the 271 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 37 of 271, lowest energy first.

This model: 609 kWh

Solid line: this model (609 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 562 kWh Median 615 kWh Max 649 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.97 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Very small DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
1.2 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,309–$1,862 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

This site calculates the 609 kWh figure; the registry does not state it. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. For the Chronomite R, the UEF is 0.97, from DOE CCD data retrieved 2026-09-19. There are 271 models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern. Among them, this model ranks 37th lowest in energy use. That puts it in the lowest quarter of its class. The gap to the class median is 6 kWh a year, measured at the same test draw. The method behind the figure is set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

The very small draw pattern covers small units, such as a single bathroom or a point-of-use heater under a sink. The Chronomite R is listed with a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 1.2. A plumber verifying a swap can check other units of this class with a same-class replacement search by model number. The 609 kWh figure does not describe a home that draws more hot water than the test assumes. This page has no energy figure for a larger daily draw. If the need goes beyond this draw pattern, the selector by fuel, space and size covers other classes. Their figures cannot be compared with this unit's rank of 37th.

This text does not state a running cost. The cost depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page calculates it from your ZIP. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies your rate to the 609 kWh test figure. At the same rate, the class median of 615 kWh would differ in cost by the value of 6 kWh. The cost of any usage above the test draw is unknown here. The modeled installed-cost range is shown in its own block, with its source and date. That range is a model, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.97 · Grade E Price it on your ZIP