DoesTheMath

BRADFORD WHITE T9800 SE 199

0.95 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
B

Grade B: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

If you are checking BRADFORD WHITE T9800 SE 199 against the registry, it uses 178 therms of natural gas a year at the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 4 therms below the class median of 182 therms across 397 gas tankless models.


Energy use per year

178 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 45 of 397, lowest energy first.

This model: 178 therms

Solid line: this model (178 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.95 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
5.4 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
2021-06-01 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
No ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$2,358–$3,405 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

Does it fit your space?

Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.

Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
Vent type and size (ENERGY STAR)
how a gas unit is vented, the vent's diameter and the height of its vent connector
  • Physical footprintEnter your numbers32" H × 19" W × 10" D
  • Electrical supplyEnter your numbers2.7A max
  • Vent compatibilityEnter your numbersDirect Vent, 2" vent
ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What these figures mean

The figure of 178 therms is a calculation by this site, not a value published by the registry. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.95 with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. Against the 397 models registered as a gas tankless unit at this draw pattern, BRADFORD WHITE T9800 SE 199 ranks 45th lowest for energy use. That places it in the lowest quarter of its class. Its use sits 4 therms below the class median of 182 therms. The method is set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. The 178 therms figure applies to that use only. A household with lighter use is not covered by this figure, and this page does not show energy use for other draw patterns. The registry lists a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 5.4 for this unit. The registry data used here does not say how many fixtures that supports at once, so that is not stated. Readers comparing units by fuel, space and size can use the water heater selector. Someone replacing an existing unit can find a same-class replacement by model number.

Running cost is not stated in the text because it depends on the state average residential gas price, which differs by reader. The cost follows from the 178 therms at the high draw pattern multiplied by the price per therm where the unit is used. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies that price to the figure. The 4 therms gap to the class median of 182 therms would convert to a cost difference at the same price, but this page does not estimate it. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a range, not a quote. All energy figures on this page reflect the federal test's draw, not measured use in any one home.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.95 · Grade B Price it on your ZIP