DoesTheMath

BRADFORD WHITE RE340S*-*****

0.91 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 163 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, low draw pattern (a one- or two-person household).

At the low draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, this BRADFORD WHITE RE340S*-***** electric tank uses 2,466 kWh a year. That suits a one- or two-person household and is 27 kWh above the class median of 2,439 kWh. This site computed the figure; the registry did not.


Energy use per year

2,466 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 2,439 kWh for the 163 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 88 of 163, lowest energy first.

This model: 2,466 kWh

Solid line: this model (2,466 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 724 kWh Median 2,439 kWh Max 2,550 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.91 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Low DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
49 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
36 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

Not published: Installed cost range

This model's UEF lies outside the range NLR REMDB's cost model was fitted on, and the range is not stretched past it.

The annual energy figure on this page does not depend on this range and is unaffected.


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The figure of 2,466 kWh comes from the UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which the registry lists as 0.91. This site computed it from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The result applies only at the federal test's draw. The comparison covers the 163 models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern. This model's use is 27 kWh above the class median of 2,439 kWh. Its rank is 88th lowest energy use of 163, in the second-highest quarter of its class for energy use.

The registry lists a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 49 gallons. The rated volume is 36 gallons. The low draw pattern describes a one- or two-person household, so the 2,466 kWh figure fits that use. A household that draws more hot water than the federal test will use more energy than this figure. This page does not state a figure for other draw patterns, because none is available in the data for this model. The water heater selector filters by fuel, space and size.

The running cost is not stated here because it depends on the electricity tariff the reader pays. Multiplying 2,466 kWh by the rate per kilowatt-hour on the reader's own bill gives a yearly figure. The cost calculator does this from the reader's ZIP, and the calculation method explains the steps. The gap from a median unit is 27 kWh multiplied by the same rate. An installed price range is not published for this model. Its ratings lie outside the range the cost database's model was fitted on, and that range is not stretched past it. To compare another unit, find a same-class replacement by model number.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.91 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP