DoesTheMath

BRADFORD WHITE KGWH-150JFN

0.98 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
A

Grade A: where this UEF sits among the 397 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tankless unit, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

Checking BRADFORD WHITE KGWH-150JFN, a gas tankless unit? It uses 173 therms of natural gas a year at the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 9 therms below the class median of 182 therms, among 397 registered models. It ranks 1st lowest in energy use.


Energy use per year

173 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 182 therms for the 397 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 1 of 397, lowest energy first.

This model: 173 therms

Solid line: this model (173 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 173 therms Median 182 therms Max 209 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.98 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tankless unit at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
4.3 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
2026-02-01 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
No ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Sound level (ENERGY STAR) how loud the unit is while it runs, in decibels as filed
44 dB ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$2,499–$3,570 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

Does it fit your space?

Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.

Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
Vent type and size (ENERGY STAR)
how a gas unit is vented, the vent's diameter and the height of its vent connector
  • Physical footprintEnter your numbers27.6" H × 17.3" W × 14.8" D × 0" ⌀
  • Electrical supplyEnter your numbers2A max
  • Vent compatibilityEnter your numbersPower Direct Vent, 2" or 3" vent, 31.5" to vent
ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What these figures mean

The registry lists this unit with a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.98. This site computed the 173 therms figure itself, from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern. The registry does not state it directly. The figure covers natural gas only and describes the federal test's draw, not a particular home. It sits 9 therms below the class median of 182 therms. Among the 397 models registered as a gas tankless unit at this draw pattern, it ranks 1st lowest, which places it in the lowest quarter of its class. The energy data was retrieved from DOE CCD on 2026-09-19.

The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap, so the 173 therms figure fits that kind of use. The listed maximum flow rate in gallons per minute is 4.3. The data here does not say how many fixtures that flow supports, so that is not stated. A home with a different draw pattern cannot use the 173 therms figure, and this page has no energy value for other patterns. The 9 therms gap to the class median is a test-based difference, not a measurement of any installed unit. To compare by fuel, space and size, use the water heater selector, or look up a same-class replacement by model number.

The running cost is not written in this text because it depends on the average residential gas price in your state. This page computes it from your ZIP, using the 173 therms figure at the high draw pattern. If your household uses hot water differently from that pattern, the result will differ from the actual bill. You can run the same calculation with the cost calculator for your own ZIP. The annual cost methodology explains how the energy figure and the gas price are combined. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block on the page, with its source and date, and is not repeated here.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.98 · Grade A Price it on your ZIP