ARISTON PV40TLN*50*
0.7 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19Grade E: where this UEF sits among the 414 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set
A gas tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).
Checking the ARISTON PV40TLN*50* for a larger household? At the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, it uses 242 therms of natural gas a year. That is 18 therms below the 260 therms median of the 414 gas tank models registered at the same draw pattern.
Energy use per year
242 therms a year
Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.
That is below the median of 260 therms for the 414 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 90 of 414, lowest energy first.
Solid line: this model (242 therms). Dashed line: the class median.
Min 188 therms Median 260 therms Max 277 therms
What it costs to run where you live
What the registry files
- UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
- 0.7 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern.
- Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
- High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
- 83 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
- Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
- 38 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
What it costs to install
$1,993–$3,665 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-24What these figures mean
How this compares
The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Find what replaces your water heater
Enter the model number off your old unit and see what is on file today, with the yearly cost difference.
-
Find a water heater that fits
Three questions — fuel, hot water need, install space — narrow every model on file to the ones that fit.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a unit's efficiency against your own utility's filed tariff for your ZIP code.
-
Is a 40-gallon water heater enough?
Answered from what models in this size actually file.
-
Water heaters
Every model on file with the Department of Energy, by heater type.
-
All gas tank water heaters
Gas-fired storage tanks, every size and draw pattern on file.
-
Every ARISTON model on file
What this brand files, by heater type.
UEF 0.7 · Grade E Price it on your ZIP
The registry lists a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.7 for this model. The registry does not state annual energy. This site computed 242 therms of natural gas from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high draw pattern, using data from DOE CCD retrieved 2026-09-19. The figure applies only at that test draw. Among 414 models, this one ranks 90th lowest for energy use, which places it in the lowest quarter of its class. The steps of the calculation are set out on the methodology page.
The high draw pattern describes a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. This model suits a reader whose hot-water use is close to that test draw, because 242 therms holds only at that draw. It has a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 83 gallons, and a rated volume of 38 gallons. This page does not compare that rating with any household's peak demand. A reader whose use is well above or below the test draw should expect a different annual figure, and that figure is not available here. The water heater selector filters by fuel, space and size.
Running cost is not stated in the text, because it depends on your state's average residential gas price. Multiplying 242 therms by your own rate gives the yearly cost at the test draw, and the cost calculator does this from your ZIP. The gap to the class median is 18 therms, against a median of 260 therms. The cost of that gap depends on the same rate, and this page does not estimate it. To compare a unit in the same class, use the same-class replacement search by model number. The modeled installed-cost range is shown in its own block with its source and date.
DOE CCD · 2026-09-19