DoesTheMath

ARISTON ENS40T-DR***

0.93 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 426 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking the ARISTON ENS40T-DR***, an electric tank, this site computes 3,493 kWh of electricity a year for it. That figure applies at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 38 kWh below the class median of 3,531 kWh, ranking 153rd lowest energy use of 426.


Energy use per year

3,493 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 3,531 kWh for the 426 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 153 of 426, lowest energy first.

This model: 3,493 kWh

Solid line: this model (3,493 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 773 kWh Median 3,531 kWh Max 3,569 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.93 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
54 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
36 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,597–$2,019 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 3,493 kWh figure does not appear in the registry itself. This site computed it from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.93 for this model. That ratio is combined with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The UEF comes from DOE CCD records retrieved 2026-09-19. The yearly figure therefore holds only at that federal test draw. The registry gives no figure for heavier or lighter household use, so those values are not available on this page. Standby losses, inlet water temperature and thermostat settings in a specific home are also not reported for this model. The steps behind the calculation are listed under how the annual cost is calculated.

The ARISTON ENS40T-DR*** has a rated volume of 36 gallons. Its first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 54 gallons. The medium draw pattern it was tested at represents a typical household on a busy morning. A home whose peak-hour demand stays within 54 gallons matches the conditions behind the 3,493 kWh figure. A home whose morning demand runs past 54 gallons falls outside what this rating covers. For that home, the registry figures on this page do not describe its actual use. The selector by fuel, space and size filters other registered models by these same fields.

The class behind the rank is the 426 models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern. Within it, this model's 3,493 kWh sits below the class median of 3,531 kWh, both taken at the federal test's daily draw. It ranks 153rd lowest energy use of 426, so the models ranked ahead of it use less energy a year under the same test. The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, which this page does not know in advance. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies your local rate to 3,493 kWh. The installed-cost range sits in its own block, with its source and date, and is a modeled range rather than a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.93 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP