DoesTheMath

AMERICAN UPVA-110E 1**

0.93 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 271 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tankless unit, very small draw pattern (small units - a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink).

If you are checking the AMERICAN UPVA-110E 1**, an electric tankless unit, it uses 635 kWh of electricity a year. That figure belongs to the very small draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, at the federal test's daily draw. It sits 20 kWh above its class median of 615 kWh.


Energy use per year

635 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is above the median of 615 kWh for the 271 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 218 of 271, lowest energy first.

This model: 635 kWh

Solid line: this model (635 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 562 kWh Median 615 kWh Max 649 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.93 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Very small DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Maximum Gallons Per Minute how many gallons a minute it can heat while running continuously
1 gal/min DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,297–$1,766 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 635 kWh figure is computed by this site, not taken from the registry. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw. For this model the UEF is 0.93. The source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. There are 271 models registered as an electric tankless unit at the very small draw pattern. Among them, this model is 218th lowest in energy use. That places it in the highest quarter of its class for energy use. The figure holds only at the test's daily draw. A household that draws more or less hot water will use a different amount, and this page does not state that amount.

The very small draw pattern covers small units: a single bathroom, or a point-of-use heater under a sink. For this model, the registry lists a maximum flow rate in gallons per minute of 1. The 635 kWh figure applies to a job that matches that pattern. A home that needs more hot water than this pattern describes falls outside what the figure measures. If the unit being replaced is in this class, you can find a same-class replacement by model number. To compare units across other draw patterns, use the water heater selector by fuel, space and size.

The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP. At any single rate, the 20 kWh gap noted above is what separates this model's cost from the class median's cost. You can enter your ZIP in the cost calculator for your own rate and read how the annual cost is calculated. The installed-price range shown elsewhere on this page has its own source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.93 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP