DoesTheMath

AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS GN40T2-3-*

0.6 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 288 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking the AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS GN40T2-3-*, it uses 185 therms of natural gas a year at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That equals its class median of 185 therms, a difference of 0 therms, among 288 gas tank models.


Energy use per year

185 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is equal to the median of 185 therms for the 288 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 89 of 288, lowest energy first.

This model: 185 therms

Solid line: this model (185 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 148 therms Median 185 therms Max 194 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.6 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
73 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
38 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,410–$2,162 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The registry lists a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.6 for the AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS GN40T2-3-*. The registry does not state annual energy use for this model. This site computed 185 therms of natural gas per year from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The figure comes from DOE CCD data retrieved 2026-09-19. The class median for the 288 models registered as a gas tank at the medium draw pattern is 185 therms. This model differs from that median by 0 therms. Its energy use ranks 89th lowest of 288, which places it in the second-lowest quarter of its class.

The energy figure of 185 therms applies only to the medium draw pattern. It suits a reader checking a household whose hot-water use is close to that pattern, because the figure was calculated at that draw. It does not describe a household with much heavier or lighter use, and energy use at other draws is not available on this page. The first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 73 gallons for this model, and the rated volume is 38 gallons. To compare options by fuel, space and size, use the water heater selector. To look for a same-class replacement, enter GN40T2-3-* in the replacement finder.

Running cost is not stated in the text because it depends on your state's average residential gas price. The cost is 185 therms multiplied by that price, so a different rate changes the result while the 0 therms gap to the class median of 185 therms stays the same. The cost calculator computes it from your ZIP code. The methodology page explains how the annual cost is calculated. Installed cost is shown in its own block on the page as a modeled range, not a quote. The annual figure reflects the federal test's draw, not measured use in your home, and actual use may differ.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.6 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP