DoesTheMath

AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS50L-*

0.95 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 163 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, low draw pattern (a one- or two-person household).

If you are verifying this listing, the AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS50L-* uses 2,362 kWh a year at the low draw pattern. The draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against, is low here. That is 77 kWh below the class median of 2,439 kWh among 163 registered models.


Energy use per year

2,362 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 2,439 kWh for the 163 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 7 of 163, lowest energy first.

This model: 2,362 kWh

Solid line: this model (2,362 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 724 kWh Median 2,439 kWh Max 2,550 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.95 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Low DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
55 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
41 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,683–$2,577 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The figure of 2,362 kWh is computed by this site, not published by the registry. It starts from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.95 for this model. The site combines that value with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the low draw pattern. The fuel is electricity, and the source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The number describes the test draw only. A home with different hot-water use will see a different annual figure, and this page does not estimate it. Anyone checking it can repeat the calculation from the registry's UEF and the DOE draw.

Among the 163 models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern, this model ranks 7th lowest for energy use. That places it in the lowest quarter of its class. The class median is 2,439 kWh, and this model uses 77 kWh less than that. The comparison holds only for the low draw pattern; other draw patterns have their own classes. The model suits a one- or two-person household whose hot-water use is close to the test draw. Its first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 55 gallons. The rated volume is 41 gallons. A larger household falls outside this draw pattern, so the energy figure does not describe its use.

Running cost is not stated in this text because it depends on your own utility electricity rate. The cost calculator applies your ZIP to 2,362 kWh and returns a cost for this model. The methodology page explains how that annual cost is calculated. At any one rate, the 77 kWh gap to the median becomes a cost gap, which this page does not state. To compare with another unit, find a same-class replacement by model number, ENS50L-*. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. Registry data can change after 2026-09-19, and this page reflects only that retrieval.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.95 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP