DoesTheMath

AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS40T-*

0.93 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 426 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS40T-* uses 3,493 kWh of electricity a year at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 38 kWh below the class median of 3,531 kWh, taken across 426 models registered as an electric tank.


Energy use per year

3,493 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 3,531 kWh for the 426 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 153 of 426, lowest energy first.

This model: 3,493 kWh

Solid line: this model (3,493 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 773 kWh Median 3,531 kWh Max 3,569 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.93 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
51 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
36 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,597–$2,019 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The registry lists a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.93 for this unit. This site combined that UEF with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The result is 3,493 kWh, computed by this site and not by the registry. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. It is a value at test conditions, not a measurement of any one home. This unit ranks 153rd lowest in energy use of 426, in the second-lowest quarter of its class. The gap to the median is 38 kWh, against a class median of 3,531 kWh.

The first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 51 gallons. The rated volume is 36 gallons. The energy figure suits a household whose hot-water use resembles the medium draw pattern. A household that draws more hot water than that pattern will use more than 3,493 kWh. A household that draws less will use less. The registry data does not say how far any given home departs from the test draw. Whether 51 gallons covers a household's peak demand is also not stated. For a comparison by fuel, space and size, the water heater selector filters on those three inputs.

Running cost is not stated in the text because it depends on your own utility electricity rate. The cost calculator applies the rate for your ZIP to 3,493 kWh. The steps are set out on the methodology page for annual cost. Any cost result carries the same condition as the energy figure: the medium draw pattern at the federal test's daily draw. Changing the rate changes the running cost but not the 3,493 kWh figure. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote. To find a same-class replacement, enter ENS40T-* in the replacement finder.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.93 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP