DoesTheMath

AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS30LUB*

0.92 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 163 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, low draw pattern (a one- or two-person household).

Checking AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS30LUB*? It uses 2,439 kWh of electricity a year at the low draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against for a one- or two-person household. That equals the class median of 2,439 kWh, a difference of 0 kWh.


Energy use per year

2,439 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is equal to the median of 2,439 kWh for the 163 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 19 of 163, lowest energy first.

This model: 2,439 kWh

Solid line: this model (2,439 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 724 kWh Median 2,439 kWh Max 2,550 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.92 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Low DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
40 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
28 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,475–$1,602 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The registry lists AMERICAN STANDARD WATER HEATERS ENS30LUB* as an electric tank with a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.92. The figure of 2,439 kWh is not published by the registry. This site computed it from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the low draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. The value therefore applies only to electricity at the federal test's draw. A home that draws more or less hot water will use a different amount. The class is the 163 models registered as an electric tank at the low draw pattern, and its median is 2,439 kWh. This model differs from that median by 0 kWh.

The rank for this model is 19th lowest energy use of 163, which the data describes as the lowest quarter of its class for energy use. The data reports this rank and the zero difference from the median together, and it does not state how they relate. The model has a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 40 gallons and a rated volume of 28 gallons. The figure of 2,439 kWh belongs to the low draw pattern, which is a one- or two-person household. It does not describe a household with a higher draw, and energy use at other draw patterns is not available on this page. The selector by fuel, space and size covers other fuels and sizes.

The running cost is not stated here because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies your rate to the 2,439 kWh listed for this model at the low draw pattern. The method behind that calculation is set out in how the annual cost is calculated. No cost figure is estimated on this page. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date, as a range and not a quote, so it is not restated in the text. To compare against the 2,439 kWh class median for the same class, you can find a same-class replacement by model number.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.92 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP