DoesTheMath

AMERICAN HPACO-45 1**+AXST-50T 1**

3.52 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
B

Grade B: where this UEF sits among the 426 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking the AMERICAN HPACO-45 1**+AXST-50T 1**, this electric tank uses 923 kWh of electricity a year. That figure holds at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It is 2,608 kWh below the class median of 3,531 kWh, the 70th lowest of 426 electric tanks at that pattern.


Energy use per year

923 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 3,531 kWh for the 426 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 70 of 426, lowest energy first.

This model: 923 kWh

Solid line: this model (923 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 773 kWh Median 3,531 kWh Max 3,569 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
3.52 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
67 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
45 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
2026-02-13 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
Yes (CTA-2045-A,CTA-2045-B) ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Refrigerant and GWP (ENERGY STAR) the refrigerant a heat pump unit uses and its global warming potential, a leak's climate effect relative to carbon dioxide (CO2 = 1)
R-744 (CO2), GWP 1 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$2,998–$4,170 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

Does it fit your space?

Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.

Compressor operating range (ENERGY STAR)
the air temperatures around the unit in which its heat pump runs; outside this range the heat pump stops
Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
  • Ambient temperatureEnter your numbers1°F min
  • Physical footprintEnter your numbers16" ⌀
  • Electrical supplyEnter your numbers240V, 20.2A max
ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What these figures mean

This site computed the 923 kWh figure; the registry does not state it. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, with the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium pattern. This model's UEF is 3.52. Both inputs come from the DOE CCD registry, retrieved 2026-09-19. The figure therefore describes the federal test household, not any particular home. A household that draws more or less hot water each day will use a different amount, and the registry does not give that amount. The steps are set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

The class comparison covers the 426 models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern. The 70th place rests on the same test conditions for every model in that group. It is most relevant to a household whose daily use is close to the medium pattern. For sizing, the registry lists a rated volume of 45 gallons. It also lists a first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, of 67 gallons. A plumber verifying a swap can check these two values against the unit being removed, or find a same-class replacement by model number.

The ranking does not apply to a household whose morning peak exceeds the 67-gallon first hour rating. That household falls outside the medium pattern that the 923 kWh figure assumes. This page does not have a figure for this model at another draw pattern. The running cost is not stated here either. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP. The cost calculator on your own ZIP applies that rate to 923 kWh. The installed price in its own block is a modeled range with its source and date, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 3.52 · Grade B Price it on your ZIP