DoesTheMath

AMERICAN GDVNL-40L 1**

0.61 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
F

Grade F: where this UEF sits among the 288 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking this model's figures, AMERICAN GDVNL-40L 1** uses 182 therms of natural gas a year at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 3 therms below the 185 therms median of the 288 models registered as a gas tank at that draw pattern.


Energy use per year

182 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is below the median of 185 therms for the 288 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 73 of 288, lowest energy first.

This model: 182 therms

Solid line: this model (182 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 148 therms Median 185 therms Max 194 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.61 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
64 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
38 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,468–$2,313 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The annual figure of 182 therms is computed by this site, not by the registry. It combines the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 0.61 with the federal test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-09-19. Among the 288 models registered as a gas tank at this draw pattern, this model has the 73rd lowest energy use of 288. That places it in the second-lowest quarter of its class. Its figure sits 3 therms below the class median of 185 therms, and both values apply only to natural gas at the medium draw pattern.

The first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 64 gallons for this model. The rated volume is 38 gallons. The energy figure suits a household whose hot-water use resembles the medium draw pattern, a typical household on a busy morning. It does not describe a household with heavier or lighter use, and the registry data give no figure for those cases. Whether the first hour rating of 64 gallons covers a particular household's peak demand is not stated in the data. To narrow a search by fuel, space and size, use the water heater selector.

Running cost is not stated here because it depends on the state average residential gas price, which differs by reader. Apply your own rate to 182 therms at the medium draw pattern, or enter your ZIP in the cost calculator. The methodology page explains how the annual cost is calculated from the UEF of 0.61. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date, as a modeled installed-cost range and not a quote. To compare GDVNL-40L 1** with a unit in the same class, you can find a replacement by model number. Without a rate, no cost figure is available on this page.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.61 · Grade F Price it on your ZIP