DoesTheMath

A. O. SMITH HPTU-50N 1**

3.45 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
B

Grade B: where this UEF sits among the 426 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

An electric tank, medium draw pattern (a typical three- or four-person household, about 55 gallons on a busy morning).

If you are checking this model's energy use, A. O. SMITH HPTU-50N 1** uses 942 kWh of electricity a year at the medium draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. That is 2,589 kWh below the 3,531 kWh class median across 426 electric tank models registered at the same draw pattern.


Energy use per year

942 kWh a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the electricity rate where you live.

That is below the median of 3,531 kWh for the 426 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 93 of 426, lowest energy first.

This model: 942 kWh

Solid line: this model (942 kWh). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 773 kWh Median 3,531 kWh Max 3,569 kWh

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year on your own utility’s electricity rate.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
3.45 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
Medium DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
66 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
46 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
On the market since (ENERGY STAR) the date the manufacturer told ENERGY STAR the model went on sale
2019-04-05 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Connected / demand response (ENERGY STAR) whether the unit can take signals from your utility to shift when it heats, and by which standard (such as CTA-2045)
No ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19
Refrigerant and GWP (ENERGY STAR) the refrigerant a heat pump unit uses and its global warming potential, a leak's climate effect relative to carbon dioxide (CO2 = 1)
R-134a, GWP 1430 ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$3,022–$4,110 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

Does it fit your space?

Enter your own numbers below — this compares them to what ENERGY STAR publishes for this model, it does not tell you what to buy.

Compressor operating range (ENERGY STAR)
the air temperatures around the unit in which its heat pump runs; outside this range the heat pump stops
Dimensions (ENERGY STAR)
the unit's filed height, width, depth or tank diameter, in inches
Input voltage and maximum current (ENERGY STAR)
the circuit voltage the unit is certified on and the most current it draws
  • Ambient temperatureEnter your numbers45°F min
  • Physical footprintEnter your numbers15" ⌀
  • Electrical supplyEnter your numbers240V, 22A max
ENERGY STAR · 2026-09-19

What these figures mean

The registry lists a UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, of 3.45 for this model. The registry does not state annual energy. This site computed 942 kWh from that UEF and the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the medium draw pattern. The figure is electricity only and comes from DOE CCD data retrieved 2026-09-19. It describes test conditions, not a measurement in any home. A household whose daily hot-water use differs from the test draw will use a different amount, and this page has no value for other draw patterns. The steps behind the calculation are set out in how the annual cost is calculated.

This model ranks 93rd lowest energy use of 426, which places it in the lowest quarter of its class. Its figure sits 2,589 kWh below the class median of 3,531 kWh. The class covers only models registered as an electric tank at the medium draw pattern, so the comparison says nothing about other heater types or other draw patterns. Energy use alone does not show whether the tank fits a household. The first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 66 gallons, and the rated volume is 46 gallons. Whether those meet a particular household's peak demand is not available from this data. The selector by fuel, space and size covers that comparison.

The running cost is not stated here because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. Multiply 942 kWh by your rate per kilowatt-hour to check the result for the medium draw pattern. The cost calculator on your own ZIP does this with the tariff for your area. The installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote, and it is not repeated in this text. If you need a unit in the same class for comparison, find a same-class replacement by model number using HPTU-50N 1**. Any use above or below the medium draw pattern will move your result away from 942 kWh.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 3.45 · Grade B Price it on your ZIP