DoesTheMath

A. O. SMITH GUR 40 4**

0.64 UEF DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
G

Grade G: where this UEF sits among the 414 models in its class, lowest (G) to highest (A). A position, not an official label. How the grade is set

A gas tank, high draw pattern (a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap).

If you are verifying the A. O. SMITH GUR 40 4**, a gas tank, it uses 264 therms of natural gas a year. That figure belongs to the high draw pattern, the standard daily hot-water usage DOE tests against. It sits 4 therms above its class median of 260 therms, ranking 236th lowest in energy use of 414.


Energy use per year

264 therms a year

Computed by this site from the registry's UEF and the federal test's daily hot-water draw for this draw pattern. What it costs depends on the natural gas rate where you live.

That is above the median of 260 therms for the 414 models registered in the same heater type and draw pattern; it ranks 236 of 414, lowest energy first.

This model: 264 therms

Solid line: this model (264 therms). Dashed line: the class median.

Min 188 therms Median 260 therms Max 277 therms

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this unit costs to run a year at your state’s average natural gas price.


What the registry files

UEF (Uniform Energy Factor) how much hot water you get for each unit of energy the heater uses
0.64 DOE CCD · 2026-09-19 Compared only with other models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern.
Draw Pattern the standard daily usage profile DOE tests the unit against
High DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
First Hour Rating how many gallons of hot water the unit can deliver in one hour, starting from a full tank
83 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19
Rated Storage Volume the tank size in gallons
38 gal DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

What it costs to install

$1,643–$2,763 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Escalation indexes: equipment (BLS PPI) latest available: August 2026; labor (BLS ECI) latest available: April 2026 to June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number


Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-24

What these figures mean

The 264 therms figure is computed by this site, not published by the registry. It starts from the registry's UEF, the ratio of hot water delivered to energy used, which is 0.64 for this model. That value is applied to the DOE test's daily hot-water draw for the high pattern, using DOE CCD data retrieved on 2026-09-19. The result holds only at that test draw. Energy use at any other daily draw is not available from the registry, and this page does not estimate it. A plumber or seller checking a quoted figure should compare it at the same draw pattern and fuel, natural gas. The steps behind the calculation are set out in how the annual energy and cost figures are calculated.

The high draw pattern stands for a larger household, or one where showers and laundry overlap. This model's first hour rating, the gallons of hot water available in the first hour from a full tank, is 83 gallons. Its rated volume is 38 gallons. The first hour rating is a federal test result, not a measure taken in a particular home. A household whose daily use is well below the high pattern sits outside the condition behind the 264 therms figure. Whether the rating covers a given household's peak hour is not stated in the data. A replacement check can compare these figures with the unit being removed, using the same-class replacement search by model number.

Against the 414 models registered as a gas tank at the high draw pattern, this unit falls in the second-highest quarter for energy use. Its 4 therms gap above the median is the whole difference the data shows; the reason for it is not available. The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your state's average residential natural gas price, so the page computes it from your ZIP. You can see it on your own rate in the water heater running cost calculator by ZIP. The installed price appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a modeled installed-cost range, not a quote.

DOE CCD · 2026-09-19

How this compares

The closest models in the same class — same fuel, type and draw pattern.


Keep going

UEF 0.64 · Grade G Price it on your ZIP