DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WF45N53…A

Filed with DOE as WF45N53**A*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

443 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 3.00 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WF45N53**A*

For anyone verifying the Samsung WF45N53**A*, DOE's test use gives 442 kWh a year with an electric water heater and electric dryer. The same test use gives 3,850 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 3, which ranks 30th highest of 360 front-loading, standard-size models.


Energy and water per year

443 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

3,850 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
3.00 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
2.9
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

The 442 kWh figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer, because IMEF folds drying energy in with the washer's own use. This site computed it, not the registry, from the model's IMEF and its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 4.5. The calculation uses DOE's test assumption for cycles per year, as set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated. A machine-only figure, without the dryer, is not available for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF, and ENERGY STAR, the only source that splits the machine out, lists no matching rating for it. For the same reason, no installed price range is published, because the cost model needs that machine-only number.

Read the rest

The 3,850 gallons a year comes from the model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. Its IWF is 2.9, and this site multiplied it by the 4.5 cubic-foot drum and DOE's yearly cycle count. A cost for that water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. The electricity cost of the 442 kWh is also left out of this text. It depends on the reader's own utility tariff, so the page computes it from the reader's ZIP instead of naming an amount. Both yearly quantities stay tied to DOE's test use, not to any household's actual loads.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading and standard size, this model's IMEF of 3 sits above the class median of 2.76. A higher IMEF means more cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, so this rating places it 30th highest in the class. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. In the same class, 37 models sit at that federal minimum. This page does not state the federal minimum value itself, since it is not in the data used here. The rank compares filed ratings only; it says nothing about how units perform in a given home. Other washers in this class can be compared through the index of all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated