DoesTheMath
Menu

Samsung WH53DBH7…G

Filed with DOE as WH53DBH7**G*. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

504 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 3.10 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WH53DBH7**G*

If you are checking the Samsung WH53DBH7**G* against the registry, here are its yearly figures at DOE's test use. It uses 504 kWh with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 4,534 gallons of water. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 3.1, above its class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

504 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 103 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,534 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
3.10 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
2.9
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5.3 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,203–$1,851 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

This site calculated the 504 kWh total; the registry does not publish it. It applies the registry's IMEF and capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, at DOE's test use. This model's capacity is 5.3 cubic feet. The total assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer, so it includes the dryer's energy. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 103 kWh a year for this model. That figure covers only the machine and its electrically heated water, with the dryer left out. The gap between 504 kWh and 103 kWh is therefore the dryer's share under the test assumptions. If your home heats water or dries clothes with gas, neither figure matches your setup as stated. The registry values come from DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25.

Read the rest

This site also calculated the 4,534 gallons figure. It uses this model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 2.9. That factor is multiplied by the 5.3 cubic-foot capacity at the same DOE test use. A lower IWF means less water for each cubic foot of drum. The class median IWF is not available in this page's data, so no comparison is given. The page does not state a water cost for this model. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure would be a guess. The steps behind both yearly figures are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

This model is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Its IMEF of 3.1 is above the class median of 2.76. It ranks 5th for IMEF among the 360 models. A higher IMEF means more cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour. In the same class, 37 models are rated at the federal minimum IMEF, and this model is rated above that minimum. The minimum value itself is not given in this page's data. This text does not state the running cost, because it depends on your own utility's electricity tariff. The page calculates it from your ZIP code instead. Other registered models are listed on the clothes washer pages for every model.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated