DoesTheMath
Menu

LG WM4270H…A

Filed with DOE as WM4270H*A. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

455 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (3)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WM3770H*A
  • WM4270H*A
  • WM4370H*A

You are checking the LG WM4270H*A, a standard-size front-loading washer. At DOE's test use, it takes 455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It also uses 4,248 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, above its class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,248 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 455 kWh figure is calculated by this site, not filed by the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.92 with the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.5 at DOE's test use. Because IMEF folds the dryer in, the figure covers the washer, an electric water heater and an electric dryer together. A machine-only figure for this model is not available. DOE's database files only IMEF, and ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, but it lists no matching rating for the WM4270H*A. For the same reason, no installed price range is published for this model. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The 4,248 gallons a year is also this site's calculation, not a registry figure. It applies the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, to the 4.5 cubic foot capacity. For this model, the IWF is 3.2. The figure follows DOE's test use, not a household's own count of loads. The cost of this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page gives gallons only and makes no estimate. A reader checking a water bill can set metered gallons against the 4,248 gallons figure, keeping the test-use basis in mind.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, the WM4270H*A has the 33rd highest IMEF. Its IMEF of 2.92 compares with a class median of 2.76. The model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 models in that class sit at the minimum. The registry lists this model as also sold as WM3770H*A, WM4370H*A. The running cost of the 455 kWh is not stated in this text. It depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP code. Other models in this class appear among all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated