DoesTheMath
Menu

LG WM3900H…A

Filed with DOE as WM3900H*A. An asterisk in a model number stands for any character: this one filing covers several variants.

455 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.92 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (5)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WM3800H*A
  • WM3900H*A
  • WM4000H*A
  • WM4080H*A
  • WM4100H*A

If you are checking the LG WM3900H*A, it uses 455 kWh a year at DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and dryer. It uses 3,850 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.92, ranking 33rd highest of 360 front-loading standard-size models.


Energy and water per year

455 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 105 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

3,850 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.92 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
2.9
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,210–$1,917 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 455 kWh figure is not printed in the registry. This site computes it from the model's IMEF and its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 4.5, at DOE's test use. It counts the washer, an electric water heater and an electric dryer together. The registry values come from the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 105 kWh a year. That figure covers the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. The gap between 105 kWh and 455 kWh reflects the dryer's share, although the two figures come from different filings. The registry lists this model as also sold as WM3800H*A, WM4000H*A, WM4080H*A. The method is set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure of 3,850 gallons is also computed by this site, not taken from the registry. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 2.9 for this model. That factor is applied to the 4.5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's test use. A lower IWF means less water for each cubic foot of drum. The page does not state a water cost for the 3,850 gallons figure. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost shown here would be an estimate. Your local water and sewer bill states the rate that applies to you.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading and standard size, the median IMEF is 2.76. This model's 2.92 sits above that median and ranks 33rd highest. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, and 37 models in the class are rated at that minimum. The rank describes rated efficiency at DOE's test use, not measured use in a particular home. The text does not state a running cost. That cost depends on your own utility's electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP. The installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date, as a modeled range, not a quote. Other models are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated