DoesTheMath
Menu

Amana V19sDx62(3B)

714 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.57 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 3.8 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • NTW4519J**

If you are verifying the Amana V19sDx62(3B), it uses 714 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, at DOE's test use. It uses 7,286 gallons of water a year at that same test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.57, the federal minimum for its class.


Energy and water per year

714 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

7,287 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 218 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.57 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
6.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
3.8 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 714 kWh figure is calculated by this site and is not taken from the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 1.57 with the model's capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 3.8. Because IMEF includes drying, the yearly total contains the electric dryer's share as well as the washer's. A machine-only figure is not available for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF, and ENERGY STAR is the one source that separates out the machine. ENERGY STAR lists the V19sDx62(3B) under no matching rating. The DOE CCD data behind the figure was retrieved on 2026-10-25. This model is also sold as NTW4519J**. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The 7,286 gallons yearly figure is also this site's calculation. It uses IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. The registry gives an IWF of 6.5 for this model. That factor, applied to the 3.8 capacity over DOE's test use, gives the yearly total. The figure therefore reflects the test use, not the loads of any particular household. The water cost is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page does not estimate one. A reader comparing a meter reading with 7,286 gallons should use their own local rates to work out the cost.

The comparison group is the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. Their median IMEF is 1.57. This model's IMEF of 1.57 equals that median and sits exactly at the federal minimum for the class. 652 of the 870 models share that position, so the page claims no rank within the tie. The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own electricity tariff, so the page works it out from your ZIP. An installed price range is not published here either. The cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy, which ENERGY STAR does not list for this model, as noted above. Other models are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated