DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V23aAf56(3B)

759 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WTW6157P**

Checking the registry figures for the Whirlpool V23aAf56(3B): the data give 759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 6,723 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, ranks 37th highest of 870 models in its class.


Energy and water per year

759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 260 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,723 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5.3 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,137–$1,754 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 759 kWh figure applies to a top-loading washer of standard size with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. The registry lists its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, as 5.3. This site computed the figure from the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and that capacity, at DOE's test use; the registry does not publish it. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 260 kWh, which covers the washer and its electrically heated water, dryer not included. The gap between the two is the dryer's share, and this page does not state it as its own value.

Water use is 6,723 gallons, computed by this site from the registry's IWF and capacity at the same test use. IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, is 4.3 for this model, and its capacity is 5.3. The method for both yearly figures is set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated. A cost for this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any amount would be an estimate, and this page does not give one. The gallons follow DOE's test use, not any single household's habits.

Read the rest

Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this washer's IMEF of 2.06 compares with a class median of 1.57. It ranks 37th highest of 870, above the median and above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. In the same class, 652 models are at the federal minimum. The comparison uses IMEF only. Running cost is not given in the text, because it depends on your own electricity tariff; the page computes it from your ZIP. Other washers are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated