Whirlpool V23aAf53(3B)
759 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WTW6157P**
Checking the Whirlpool V23aAf53(3B) against the registry? At DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 759 kWh and 6,723 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, 37th highest among 870 top-loading models.
Energy and water per year
759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 260 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
6,723 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.3 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,137–$1,754 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Whirlpool V23aAf50(3B) 759 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V23aAf52(3B) 759 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V23aAf54(3B) 759 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V23aAf55(3B) 759 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Whirlpool washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The yearly figure of 759 kWh covers the washer, its electrically heated water and an electric dryer. This site computed it, not the registry, from the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.3, at DOE's test use, using DOE CCD data retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files 260 kWh for the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer not included. The difference between the two figures is the dryer's share. For water, the IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, is 4.3. With the capacity, this gives 6,723 gallons a year at DOE's test use. The cost of that water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. The calculation method is documented separately.
Read the rest
The registry lists 870 models as top-loading, standard size, and this one is sold as WTW6157P**. The class median IMEF is 1.57, and this model's IMEF of 2.06 is above it. It ranks 37th highest in IMEF among the 870 models. In the same class, 652 models sit at the federal minimum IMEF, while this model is rated above that minimum. The minimum value itself is not in the data used for this page, so the size of the difference from the minimum is not available. Rank and median describe this class only and say nothing about other types or sizes. Other models can be found under all clothes washer pages.
Running cost is not stated in this text, because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. The page computes it from your ZIP code instead. The 759 kWh figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer at DOE's test use. A household with a different water heater, dryer fuel or number of cycles would see different values, and those values are not available here. The 260 kWh machine-only figure leaves out the dryer, so it does not depend on what kind of dryer you use, provided the water heater is electric. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block with its source and date. It is a range, not a quote.