DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V22aAf53(3B)

759 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.3 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (2)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WTW500CM**
  • WTW6150P**

Checking the registry entry for the Whirlpool V22aAf53(3B)? At DOE's test use, it uses 759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, and 6,723 gallons of water. Its efficiency ranks 37th highest of 870 top-loading standard-size models, above the class median.


Energy and water per year

759 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 260 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,723 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5.3 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,137–$1,754 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 759 kWh figure covers the washer, its electrically heated water and an electric dryer. This site computed it, not the registry, at DOE's test use. The registry's IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06. Its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, is 5.3. The source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files 260 kWh a year for the machine and its electrically heated water alone, dryer not included. The two figures come from different sources, so this page does not present their difference as the dryer's share. The method is described on the methodology page for clothes washers.

The 6,723 gallons figure is also computed by this site, from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. This model's IWF is 4.3. The calculation uses the capacity of 5.3 cubic feet and DOE's test use, so it describes the test, not a household's actual loads. The cost of this water is not stated: no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, and this page does not estimate it. The running cost is not stated either. It depends on your own utility electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP. The modeled installed price range sits in its own block with its source and date; it is a range, not a quote.

Read the rest

Compared with the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this model's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest and is above the class median of 1.57. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 652 of those models sit at that minimum. The value of the minimum itself is not in this page's data. The rank covers IMEF only. This page does not rank water use, and the IWF of 4.3 has no class comparison here. The registry lists this model as sold under WTW500CM**, WTW6150P**. Other models appear in the list of all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated