Whirlpool V21zAe68(3B)
745 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.2 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WTW8127L**
Checking the Whirlpool V21zAe68(3B)? At DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and electric dryer, it uses 745 kWh of electricity and 6,596 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, ranking 37th of 870 models in its class.
Energy and water per year
745 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 260 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
6,596 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 4.3
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 5.2 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.57
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,126–$1,739 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Whirlpool V21zAe66(3B) 745 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V21zAe67(3B) 745 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V22aAf50(3B) 759 kWh a year
- Whirlpool V22aAf51(3B) 759 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Top-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Whirlpool washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The figure of 745 kWh a year was computed by this site, not the registry. It uses the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.2 cubic feet, at DOE's test use. It is stated only for an electric water heater combined with an electric dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 260 kWh a year, which covers the washer and its electrically heated water but not the dryer. The two figures come from different sources, so this page does not state the dryer's exact share. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. The method is set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
The water figure of 6,596 gallons a year is also computed by this site. It combines the IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, of 4.3 with the capacity of 5.2 cubic feet, at DOE's test use. It describes the rated use of the model, not a measurement in any one home. The cost of this water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. The electricity running cost is not stated in the text either. It depends on your own utility tariff applied to 745 kWh, or to 260 kWh for the machine alone, so the page computes it from your ZIP.
This model, sold as WTW8127L**, holds the 37th highest IMEF of the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. Its IMEF of 2.06 is above the class median of 1.57 and above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. In the same class, 652 of the 870 models sit at that federal minimum. The rank is by IMEF only; the registry data used here do not compare other attributes. The modeled installed price range appears in its own block on this page, with its source and date. Other models are listed on the all clothes washer pages index.