DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V21zAe58(3B)

745 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5.2 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WTW8127L**

For this Whirlpool V21zAe58(3B) top-loading washer, the registry data gives 745 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. Water use is 6,596 gallons a year at DOE's test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, which ranks 37th highest of 870 models in its class.


Energy and water per year

745 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 260 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,596 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5.2 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,126–$1,739 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The figure of 745 kWh a year applies to a washer used with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. This site calculated it, not the registry. It combines the registry's IMEF of 2.06 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5.2, at DOE's test use. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 260 kWh a year. That figure covers the machine and its electrically heated water, without the dryer. The two come from different sources, so the gap between them is not itself a registry value. The methodology page for clothes washers explains the calculation.

Water use is 6,596 gallons a year. This site calculated it from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 4.3 here. It also uses the capacity of 5.2 at DOE's test use. The cost of that water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. This page does not estimate it. The class has 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. This model's IMEF of 2.06 is above the class median of 1.57, and it ranks 37th highest in that class. In the same class, 652 models sit at the federal minimum IMEF, while this one is rated above that minimum.

Read the rest

The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on your own electricity tariff, so the page computes it from your ZIP. The input is 745 kWh a year, which assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. With a different heater or dryer, that figure does not apply, and this page has no value for those cases. The registry lists V21zAe58(3B) as sold under WTW8127L**, so match the label on your unit to that name. The modeled installed-cost range sits in its own block, with its source and date. It is a modeled range, not a quote. DOE's test use may differ from your own loads, and the size of that gap is unknown. Other models are listed on the clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated