DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V17wAy56(3B)

733 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.57 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 3.9 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (2)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WTW4850H**
  • WTW4950H**

Checking the Whirlpool V17wAy56(3B) against the registry: at DOE's test use, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, it uses 733 kWh and 7,478 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.57, equal to the class median of 1.57.


Energy and water per year

733 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

7,478 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 218 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.57 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
6.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
3.9 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 733 kWh figure is calculated by this site, not published by the registry. It uses the registry's IMEF of 1.57 and the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 3.9, at DOE's fixed yearly test use. It applies only with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. The dryer is included, because IMEF counts dryer energy. The machine-only share is not available: DOE's database files IMEF, and ENERGY STAR, the only source that splits the machine out, lists this model under no matching rating. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. How the yearly energy and water figures are calculated is set out on the methodology page.

Read the rest

The water figure of 7,478 gallons comes from the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 6.5 for this model. This site multiplies it by the capacity of 3.9 and by the same fixed yearly test use as the energy figure. The registry itself does not publish a yearly water total. The cost of that water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, and this page does not estimate one. The registry files this model as sold under WTW4850H**, WTW4950H**.

The class is the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size. Its median IMEF is 1.57, and this model's IMEF of 1.57 equals it. The model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, as are 652 of those 870 models, so no rank is claimed inside that tie. An installed price range is not published, because the cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy, which only ENERGY STAR files. The running cost depends on your own electricity tariff, so it is not stated in this text; the page computes it from your ZIP. Other models are listed on the all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated