DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V17tAM54(3B)

687 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.06 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.8 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WTW7500G**

If you are checking the Whirlpool V17tAM54(3B): at DOE's test use it draws 687 kWh a year with an electric water heater and electric dryer, and uses 6,089 gallons. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.06, above the class median of 1.57.


Energy and water per year

687 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,089 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.06 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4.3
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.8 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The yearly energy figure for the Whirlpool V17tAM54(3B) is 687 kWh, and it assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. This site computed it; the registry does not publish it. The inputs are the registry's IMEF of 2.06 and its capacity of 4.8, the drum's volume in cubic feet. DOE's standard number of wash cycles a year is applied to them. The source is the DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25. That scope means the figure covers the washer and the dryer together. A machine-only figure is not available: DOE's database files only IMEF, and ENERGY STAR, which does split the machine out, lists this model under no matching rating. The dryer's share of 687 kWh therefore stays unknown, and this page does not estimate it.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure is 6,089 gallons. This site computed it from the registry's IWF of 4.3 and the capacity of 4.8 cubic feet, at the same standard number of cycles a year. IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, is a per-cycle rating, so the yearly total changes if a household runs more or fewer cycles than DOE's test use. The page does not state what this water costs. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, and a cost would need the reader's own utility rates. The steps of both calculations are described under how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, this washer's IMEF of 2.06 ranks 37th highest. That is above the class median IMEF of 1.57. It is also rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 652 of the 870 models sit at that minimum. Running cost is not stated in the text, because it depends on the reader's own electricity tariff; the page computes it from the reader's ZIP. An installed price range is also not published, since the cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy, which only ENERGY STAR files. For other models, see all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated