DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V17mA457(3B)

658 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.57 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 3.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (4)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WET4027H**
  • WETLV27H**
  • WGT4027H**
  • WGTLV27H**

If you are checking the Whirlpool V17mA457(3B), this site computes 658 kWh of electricity a year at DOE's test use. That figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. Water use is 6,711 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.57, exactly the federal minimum for its class.


Energy and water per year

658 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,711 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 218 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.57 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
6.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
3.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The registry does not file the 658 kWh figure. This site works it out from the registry's IMEF and capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, at DOE's test use. For this model those values are 1.57 and 3.5. IMEF folds the dryer in, so the total covers the washer, the water heating and the drying of each load. The washer's own share is not available. DOE's database files only IMEF, and only ENERGY STAR splits out the machine's own share. ENERGY STAR lists no matching rating for this model. The source values come from DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The 6,711 gallons figure also comes from this site, not from the registry. It combines the model's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, with its capacity of 3.5 cubic feet. This model's IWF is 6.5, and the yearly total uses the same DOE test use as the energy figure. If a household runs a different number of loads, its yearly water use will also differ from this total. The cost of this water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page gives no estimate. The gallon figure can be checked against the local utility's own rate.

The class here is the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, and their median IMEF is 1.57. This model's IMEF of 1.57 is the same as that median and is also the federal minimum for the class. 652 of the 870 models are rated at that same minimum, so no rank is claimed inside the tie. The rating also covers units sold as WET4027H**, WETLV27H**, WGT4027H**. An installed price range is not published, for the ENERGY STAR reason given above. The running cost is not stated in the text. It depends on your utility's electricity tariff, so the page works it out from your ZIP. Other models are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated