DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool V17mA4528(3B)

658 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 1.57 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A top-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 3.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (4)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WET4027H**
  • WETLV27H**
  • WGT4027H**
  • WGTLV27H**

If you are checking this washer's figures, the Whirlpool V17mA4528(3B) uses 658 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. At the same DOE test use, it takes 6,711 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 1.57, equal to its class median.


Energy and water per year

658 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

6,711 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated exactly at the federal minimum IMEF for its class, like many others; no rank is claimed inside that tie.

What you can do. Federal minimum means this model uses as much energy as the law allows for its class. 218 washers in the same class file a higher IMEF; at the same drum size and use, a higher IMEF is less energy a year. See the most efficient washers in each class

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
1.57 Compared only with other top-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
6.5
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
3.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.57

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for top-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 658 kWh figure counts more than the washer itself, because IMEF folds the dryer in and the total covers drying each load. This site, not the registry, derived it from the IMEF of 1.57 and its capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, which is 3.5. Both inputs come from DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25, and are applied at DOE's yearly test cycle count. A machine-only energy figure for this washer is not available, because DOE's database files only IMEF. ENERGY STAR alone splits the machine's own share out, and it lists this model under no matching rating. For the same reason, no installed price range is published, since the cost database needs that machine-only yearly energy. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure of 6,711 gallons starts from IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. This model's IWF is 6.5, and this site multiplied it by the drum's capacity across DOE's yearly test cycles. The registry does not publish this total itself, so it is a site calculation, not a filed value. The cost of that water is not stated, because no free national source publishes local water and sewer rates. A plumber or homeowner who needs that cost can apply the local water and sewer rate to the 6,711 gallons figure.

Among the 870 models registered as top-loading, standard size, the median IMEF is 1.57. This model's IMEF of 1.57 matches that median and sits exactly at the federal minimum for its class. 652 of the 870 models in the class are rated at that minimum, so no rank is claimed inside the tie. The same registry entry covers the units sold as WET4027H**, WETLV27H**, WGT4027H**, so these checks apply to those names too. The running cost of using 658 kWh a year is not stated in the text, because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. The page computes it from the ZIP code you enter. Other models in the class are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated