DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool H24JAK54(3B)

534 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WFW6720R**

If you are checking the Whirlpool H24JAK54(3B), this front-loading washer uses 534 kWh a year at DOE's test use with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. It also uses 4,720 gallons of water a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76, equal to the class median of 2.76.


Energy and water per year

534 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 140 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,720 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,270–$2,277 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The yearly energy figure of 534 kWh covers the washer, an electric water heater and an electric dryer, so the dryer's share is included. This site computed it rather than the registry, using the IMEF of 2.76 and the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 5. The source is DOE CCD, retrieved 2026-10-25, and the figure applies only at DOE's test use. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 140 kWh, which covers the washer and its electrically heated water with the dryer left out. The first figure includes the dryer and the second does not. Each step of the calculation is set out in how the yearly figures are calculated.

Read the rest

The yearly water figure of 4,720 gallons applies at DOE's test use, and this site computed it rather than the registry. It uses the IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. The registry gives an IWF of 3.2 for this model, with a capacity of 5 cubic feet. A different capacity would change the gallons at the same IWF, and the registry lists this model as sold under WFW6720R**. The cost of that water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so this page does not estimate one.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading and standard size, the median IMEF is 2.76. This model's IMEF of 2.76 equals that median, and it ranks 101st highest of 360. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 models in the class sit at that minimum. The running cost of the 534 kWh yearly figure depends on your own utility electricity rate, so it is not stated in this text. The page computes it from your ZIP code, and the installed price range appears in its own block with its source and date. Other models are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated