Whirlpool H24JAJ54(3B)
481 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it
A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.
Label numbers this filing covers (1)
The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.
- WFW4720R**
For the Whirlpool H24JAJ54(3B) you are checking, DOE's test use gives 481 kWh of electricity a year. That assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer; water use is 4,248 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76, equal to its class median.
Energy and water per year
481 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer
Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated
The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 140 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.
Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying
DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.
Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.
4,248 gallons of water a year
Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.
Not published: What the water costs
water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.
The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.
This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.
DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25What it costs to run where you live
See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.
What the registry files
From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25
- IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
- 2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
- IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
- 3.2
- Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
- 4.5 ft³
- Federal minimum IMEF for this class
- 1.84
From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25
- ENERGY STAR
- ENERGY STAR certified.
Installed cost and service life
$1,273–$2,305 installed
Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.
Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.
NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.
NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29Safety record
No CPSC recall names this model.
Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.
CPSC · 2026-09-29What these figures mean
Where the hot water in this figure comes from
-
Water heaters
The other big user of hot water in a home, with every model on file.
-
What a water heater costs to run
Prices a water heater’s efficiency against your own utility’s tariff.
Closest in its class
- Whirlpool H24JAJ52(3B) 481 kWh a year
- Whirlpool H24JAJ53(3B) 481 kWh a year
- Whirlpool H24JAJ55(3B) 481 kWh a year
- Whirlpool H24JAJ56(3B) 481 kWh a year
Keep going
How every figure on this page is calculated
-
Front-load washers ranked by filed efficiency (IMEF)
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Most energy-efficient clothes washers
Ranked by filed IMEF inside each class, recalled models left out.
-
Top load vs front load washing machine
The filed IMEF, yearly energy, water, drum size and installed-cost range of every standard-size top-loading and front-loading washer, side by side from the DOE registry.
-
How much water and electricity does a washing machine use?
The yearly gallons and kWh of every residential washer on file, by product class with the full spread, plus the exact per-cycle figures, and the watts no registry files declared as a gap.
-
Every Whirlpool washer on file
What the brand files, by product class.
-
Every clothes washer on file
All four product classes, from the DOE registry.
The 481 kWh a year is calculated by this site, not published by the registry. The calculation applies the registry's IMEF of 2.76 and the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.5 to DOE's test use. The source is the DOE Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. That total includes the electric dryer. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 140 kWh a year for this model. It covers the washer and its electrically heated water alone, without the dryer. So the difference between 140 kWh and 481 kWh is the dryer's share under the test assumptions. The data has no figure for homes that heat water or dry clothes with gas. The steps are set out in how the yearly energy and water figures are calculated.
Read the rest
The 4,248 gallons a year is also calculated by this site. It uses the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 3.2 for this model. The IWF is multiplied by the drum size of 4.5 cubic feet at the same DOE test use. So the yearly water figure depends on the drum size as well as the IWF. This page does not state what that water costs. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any amount written here would be an estimate. The rate for your address is on your own water and sewer bill.
This model is a standard-size front-loading washer, listed as sold under WFW4720R**. It is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading and standard size. Its IMEF of 2.76 ranks 101st highest of 360, and it equals the class median of 2.76. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, and 37 models in the class sit at that minimum. This text does not state the yearly running cost, because it depends on your own utility's electricity tariff. The page calculates that cost from your ZIP instead. The installed price range has its own block with its source and date, and it is a modeled range, not a quote. Other registered models are listed in the index of clothes washer pages.