DoesTheMath
Menu

Whirlpool H18vA860(3B)

481 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 4.5 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (2)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • WFW5620H**
  • WFW6620H**

Checking this washer's ratings? The Whirlpool H18vA860(3B) uses 481 kWh a year with an electric water heater and electric dryer, and 4,248 gallons of water, at DOE's test use. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76: equal to its class median, 101st highest of 360.


Energy and water per year

481 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

The machine and its hot water alone, dryer not included: 139 kWh a year, as ENERGY STAR files it.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

4,248 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
4.5 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

From ENERGY STAR · 2026-10-25

ENERGY STAR
ENERGY STAR certified.

Installed cost and service life

$1,271–$2,294 installed

Not a quote — a modeled range of what installers have charged for this class of unit; your price will vary with labor rates, access, and local code requirements.

Brought to current prices with Bureau of Labor Statistics indexes: equipment to August 2026, installation labor to April 2026–June 2026.

NLR REMDB (BLS PPI/ECI escalated) · 2026-04-01

Report an issue with this number

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

What these figures mean

The 481 kWh figure covers the washer, the water it heats electrically and the electric dryer that finishes the load. This site computed it, not the registry. It uses the IMEF of 2.76 and the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 4.5 at DOE's test use. The source is the DOE Compliance Certification Database (CCD), retrieved 2026-10-25. ENERGY STAR files a separate machine-only figure of 139 kWh a year for this model. That value counts the machine and its electrically heated water alone, with the dryer left out. The two figures therefore differ in scope: the first includes the dryer, the second does not. This model is also sold as WFW5620H**, WFW6620H**. The calculation is set out in how this site calculates the yearly energy and water figures.

Read the rest

The 4,248 gallons figure is also this site's calculation, not a registry value. It starts from the IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, which is 3.2 for this model. That factor is applied to the 4.5 cubic-foot drum at DOE's yearly test use. The result reflects the test pattern, not any one household's washing. The page does not state what this water costs. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any cost figure would be an estimate. A plumber or seller checking this model can compare the IWF of 3.2 directly with the registry record.

This model is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Its IMEF of 2.76 ranks 101st highest in that group. The class median IMEF is 2.76, so this model sits exactly at the median. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, where 37 models in the class sit. The federal minimum value itself is not available in this data. The text does not state a running cost, because it depends on your own utility electricity tariff. The page computes that cost from your ZIP instead. The modeled installed-cost range appears in its own block, with its source and date. Other models in this category are listed on all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated