DoesTheMath
Menu

Summit SLW343

267 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.10 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 1.9 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • SLW343***

Computed from DOE registry ratings, the SUMMIT SLW343 uses 267 kWh a year at DOE's test use. That assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer; water use is 2,242 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.1, ranking 296th of 360 standard-size front-loaders, below the class median.


Energy and water per year

267 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

2,242 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.10 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
4
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
1.9 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

The 267 kWh figure is this site's calculation, not a registry entry. It combines the IMEF of 2.1 with the capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 1.9, at DOE's yearly test use. Because IMEF folds the dryer in, the figure covers the washer and the drying together. It applies only with an electric water heater and an electric dryer. A washer-only figure is not available for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF, and ENERGY STAR, which splits the machine out, lists no matching rating for the SLW343. For the same reason, no installed price range is published here: the cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy. The ratings were retrieved from DOE's Compliance Certification Database on 2026-10-25. The steps are set out in our method for the yearly energy and water figures.

Read the rest

The 2,242 gallons yearly figure also comes from this site, using the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum. For this model the IWF is 4. Multiplied by the 1.9 cubic-foot capacity, that rating gives the water drawn per cycle. The yearly total then assumes DOE's test use, so a household running more or fewer loads will see a different total. The cost of that water is not stated. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so any figure here would be an estimate. A local utility's rate can be applied to 2,242 gallons directly.

Among the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size, the SLW343 ranks 296th by IMEF. Its 2.1 sits below the class median of 2.76, yet above the federal minimum IMEF for its class. 37 models in the class sit at that minimum; this one is not among them. The registry lists it as sold under SLW343***. The running cost is not stated in this text. It depends on the reader's own electricity tariff, so the page computes it from the reader's ZIP. Other models in the same class appear in the index of all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated