DoesTheMath
Menu

Summit MFC120-U1421BS/C14E-US

289 kWh a year DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) (the U.S. Department of Energy’s Compliance Certification Database) · 2026-10-25

with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

IMEF 2.76 filed efficiency; the yearly figure is computed from it

A front-loading washer of standard size (1.6 cubic feet or more). Drum: 2.7 cubic feet.

Label numbers this filing covers (1)

The model number on your rating plate may be any of these; each is filed under this one listing.

  • LW2427***

If you are checking the SUMMIT MFC120-U1421BS/C14E-US washer, it uses 289 kWh a year at DOE's test use. That figure assumes an electric water heater and an electric dryer. Water use is 2,549 gallons a year. Its IMEF, the cubic feet of laundry washed per kilowatt-hour, dryer included, is 2.76, equal to its class median.


Energy and water per year

289 kWh a year with an electric water heater and an electric dryer

Computed by this site from the registry's IMEF and drum capacity at DOE's test use of 295 cycles a year. IMEF counts the washer, heating its water electrically, and the electric dryer's work on what the spin leaves wet — so this is the total for that kind of home. How it is calculated

Not published: The washer's own share, without the dryer

DOE's database files IMEF, which folds the dryer in; only ENERGY STAR splits the machine out, and it lists this model under no matching rating.

The total above, and the IMEF it comes from, stand as filed.

Not published: A home with a gas water heater, a gas dryer or line drying

DOE's rating assumes electric water heating and an electric dryer and files no split between the machine, the water heating and the drying.

Such a home uses less electricity than the total above; how much less, no registry says for this model.

2,549 gallons of water a year

Computed from the registry's IWF and drum capacity at the same 295 cycles a year.

Not published: What the water costs

water and sewer rates are set by thousands of local utilities and no free national source publishes them.

The gallons above are the figure to multiply by your own water and sewer rate.

This model is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class.

DOE CCD (opens in a new tab) · 2026-10-25

Report an issue with this number


What it costs to run where you live

Enter your ZIP to see what this washer costs to run a year, with an electric water heater and an electric dryer, on your own utility’s electricity rate.

See what the middle washer of each product class costs to run on your rate.


What the registry files

From DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

IMEF (Integrated Modified Energy Factor) how many cubic feet of drum a washer cleans for each kilowatt-hour, counting the machine, heating the water and drying what the spin leaves wet
2.76 Compared only with other front-loading, standard size washers.
IWF (Integrated Water Factor) how many gallons of water a washer uses per cycle for each cubic foot of drum
3.2
Clothes container capacity the volume of the drum in cubic feet, as DOE's test measures it
2.7 ft³
Federal minimum IMEF for this class
1.84

Installed cost and service life

Not published: Installed cost range

NLR REMDB's cost model needs the washer's own yearly energy use, which only ENERGY STAR files — and it lists no matching rating for this model.

Ask retailers or installers for a written quote that names this model number. The yearly energy, water and running cost on this page do not depend on it.

Service life: DOE’s cost database assumes 11 years for front-loading washers. That is a class assumption, not this model’s rating or a warranty — no registry publishes either.

NLR REMDB v4.0.0 · 2026-09-29

Safety record

No CPSC recall names this model.

Checked against the CPSC recall database. CPSC does not publish a model-level match for this product category, so this list is curated by hand from the manufacturer's recall filings.

CPSC · 2026-09-29

This model's EnergyGuide label (the manufacturer's PDF) (opens in a new tab)


What these figures mean

This site computed the 289 kWh figure; the registry does not publish it. The calculation uses the registry's IMEF of 2.76 and a capacity, the drum's volume in cubic feet, of 2.7, at DOE's test use. IMEF includes the dryer, so this total covers drying as well as washing. A machine-only figure is not available for this model. DOE's database files only IMEF, and only ENERGY STAR reports the machine's own share separately. ENERGY STAR lists no matching rating for this model, so that share is unknown. An installed price range is not published here for the same reason, because the cost database needs the washer's own yearly energy. The inputs come from DOE's Compliance Certification Database, retrieved 2026-10-25. The method behind the yearly energy and water figures sets out each step.

Read the rest

The 2,549 gallons yearly water figure is also calculated by this site. It combines the registry's IWF, the gallons of water used per cycle for each cubic foot of drum, with the 2.7 cubic-foot drum. The registry lists this model's IWF as 3.2, and the yearly total applies it at DOE's test use. Real use will differ from the test use whenever cycle counts or load sizes differ. The cost of that water is not stated on this page. No free national source publishes local water and sewer rates, so the page does not estimate a cost. If you know your local water and sewer rate, you can apply it to the 2,549 gallons volume yourself.

This model is compared with the 360 models registered as front-loading, standard size. Its IMEF of 2.76 equals the class median of 2.76. By IMEF, it ranks 101st highest of the 360. It is rated above the federal minimum IMEF for its class, while 37 models in the class sit at that minimum. The minimum value itself is not given in this data. The text does not state a running cost because that depends on your own utility electricity tariff. Instead, the page applies the tariff for your ZIP to the 289 kWh figure. The same model is also sold as LW2427***. You can find other models through all clothes washer pages.

DOE CCD · 2026-10-25

Where the hot water in this figure comes from


Closest in its class


Keep going

Page last updated